Designation as a Telecom Provider 

Wisconsin statutes allow telecommunications carriers to be certified under several different categories and statutory provisions.  These include categories for Competitive Local Exchange Carriers (CLECs), telecommunications resellers, interconnected VoIP providers, commercial mobile radio service (CMRS / cellular) providers that do not also provide others services, and traditional incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs).  CLEC is the broadest and most general category.  Reseller is for providers that do not own or operate transmission facilities.  The VoIP providers are now permitted to obtain numbering resources. CMRS is for pure cellular providers, and ILEC is generally for incumbent wireline providers.

Use the links below for requirements and application materials for these classifications:

Competitive Local Exchange Carrier (CLEC)

Telecommunications Reseller

Commercial Mobile Radio Service / Cellular provider (CMRS)

Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP)Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP)

Eligible Telecommunication Carriers (ETC)