​​​​​​Our Team

The Public Service Commission (PSC) is composed of three, full-time Commissioners that have oversight of all staff-related activities. The Commissioners' Office houses the Commissioners, their Executive Assistants, Chief Legal Counsel, Communications and Legislative Director, the Secretary to the Commission and executive support staff.

PSC staff consists of auditors, accountants, engineers, rate analysts, attorneys, planners, research analysts, economists, consumer analysts, consumer specialists, court reporters and paraprofessional and administrative support personnel. These experts work in an advisory role to the Commissioners and are housed in each of the following divisions:

Photo of Eric EsserDivision of Business Operations and Office Management

Administrator: Eric Esser​

The Division of Business Operations and Office Management (DBOM) provides the day-to-day business operations of the PSC. Within the division are the Financial Services Bureau, the Office of Business and IT Services, and the Office of Engagement and Business Services​. Business management activities provided by the division include human resources and personnel management, budget and financial management, information technology, records management, staff development and training, agency engagement, space acquisition,​ and facilities management.

Photo of Joe FontaineDivision of Digital Access, Consumer and Environmental Affairs

Administrator: Joe Fontaine​

The Division of Digital Access, Consumer and Environmental Affairs (DACEA) is responsible for ensuring customer access to essential services, analyzing environmental impact of applications before the Commission, and managing the Commission’s grant, energy innovation, and statewide energy efficiency and renewables programs. DACEA includes two bureaus and two offices: Bureau of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Broadband, Digital, & Telecommunications Access​, the Office of Environmental Analysis, and the Office of Energy Innovation. DACEA grant and customer programs include: State Broadband Expansion Grants; Universal Service Fund, including Lifeline, the Wisconsin Telecommunications Relay Service, Focus on Energy, and the State Energy Program.

Division of Energy Regulation and Analysis

Administrator: Kate Christensen 

The Division of Energy Regulation and Analysis (DERA) is responsible for supporting the mission of the Commission to assure safe, reliable and fair provision of electricity and natural gas for the customers of the utilities it regulates and ensures Wisconsin’s involvement in regional energy issues. DERA conducts financial and engineering analyses; audits and investigates electric and natural gas utilities and utility holding companies; designs electric and natural gas rates; reviews applications for construction of transmission, electric, and natural gas utility infrastructure; and oversees natural gas pipeline safety. 

​In addition to electric and natural gas rate and tariff matters, the division provides economic and statistical analysis on the operations of investor-owned utilities. DERA staff also work directly with the Mid-Continent Independent System Operator (MISO), which operates the electric grid in Wisconsin and throughout the central part of the United States.

Photo of Andy GalvinDivision of Water Utility Regulation and Analysis​​

Administrator: Andy Galvin​

The Division of Water Utility Regulation and Analysis (DWURA) is responsible for carrying out the Commission’s regulatory authority and mission related to water utilities. DWURA works to ensure the ​​state’s drinking water utilities have the financial capacity to deliver safe, reliable drinking water in a sustainable, affordable, and environmentally responsible manner. The division designs water rates; reviews utility applications for the construction of water infrastructure; audits and investigates water utilities; promotes utility effectiveness and viability; and manages databases, information, and records related to water utilities.

Photo of Cindy SmithOffice of General Counsel

Administrator: Cynthia Smith, Chief Legal Counsel

The Office of General Counsel (OGC) provides legal representation to the Commission on all matters under the agency’s jurisdiction. It advise​s the Commission on the substantive and procedural requirements of the statutes and administrative rules applicable to Commission proceedings and investigation; represents the agency before state and federal courts; assists in drafting Commission memoranda and decisions; and leads and coordinates the Commission’s rulemakings.​​

​​ Photo of Tanner BlairDirector of Policy and Legislative Affairs 

Tanner Blair

The Director of ​Policy and Legislative Affairs ​oversees the agency’s legislative affairs, advises on policy issues, and assists with stakeholder outreach.  ​​​


Photo of Meghan SoveyDirector of Communications and External Affairs

Meghan Sovey

The Director of Communications and External Affairs oversees the PSC’s public communications and external stakeholder outreach. Meghan can connect journalists with PSC experts to learn about the utility industry, energy security, broadband expansion, and more.