​Public Records Requests

​​​​​​​​Access to Public Records

Many records are available on the PSC’s Electronic Records Filing System. The public may obtain documents filed with or issued by the PSC on the PSC’s eServices portal.

e​​Services Portal

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I submit a public records request?

You may submit a public records request via email at ​PSCPublicRecord​sRequest​@wisconsin.gov​ or by:


Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
4822 Madison Yards Way
P.O. Box 7854
Madison, WI 53707-7854
Attention: Public Records Custodian

In Person

Monday through Friday
7:45 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

4822 Madison Yards Way
Madison, Wisconsin

How may I obtain requested records?

You may obtain records electronically or by mail.

How quickly can I received requested records?

PSC works to fulfill these requests as soon as practicable.

Is there a fee associated? If so, how much?

Depending on the records requested, the times and means of locating requested records, and how the records are delivered, there may or may not be a fee​s associated.

When requested and whenever practicable, the Commission will provide electronic copies of records that already exist in electronic format without charging reproduction fees on a per-page basis. If a record is not in a readily comprehensible format and electronic copies are provided, the PSC may charge the actual costs of creating a readily comprehensible form. The PSC may also recover the actual cost of the physical media used to provide electronic records (DVD, flash drive).

For hard copies (paper records provided by copying a paper record or printing an electronic record):

  • $0.13 per page (black and white)
  • $0.63 per page (color)
  • In rare circumstances specialized skills, equipment, or technology may request in additionally copy costs.

There may be a location fee:

  • The PSC may charge the actual, necessary, and direct costs of locating the records if it exceeds $50.
  • Any staff time for locating records will be billed at the hourly rate of salary for the lowest-paid employee capable of performing the task. The hourly rate charged for locating records may also include the cost of benefits, but will not exceed $22.54 per hour.

For mailing records:

  • The PSC may charge the actual, necessary, and direct costs for the mailing of records.

The above fees apply except where a different fee is authorized by law.

Is prepayment necessary?

The PSC may require pre-payment if the total costs are greater than $5.

Complete PSC Public Records Notice

Print the complete PSC​ Public Records Notice

Public Records Request Notice