Broadband Forward!

​OverviewLogo of Broadband Forward!

Through its many outreach and plann​​ing efforts throughout
the state, the PSC's Wisconsin Broadband Office encourages broadband development and deployment by certifying local communities as being Broadband Forward!.

Created by 2015 Wisconsin Act 278, Broadband Forward! is a
voluntary program for local units of government (city, village,
town, or county) to signal that the political subdivision has taken
steps to reduce obstacles to broadband infrastructure investment.​

Model Ordinance

The PSC has created a model ordinance that satisfies the minimum requirements under Wis. Stat. § 196.504 to assist communities in this effort. 

Per Wis. Stat. § 196.504(9)(b)​, if a political subdivision seeking Broadband Forward! certification enacts an ordinance that differs from the model ordinance (other than non-substantive stylistic differences), the political subdivision shall provide the Commission with a written statement that describes the ordinance and how the ordinance differs from the model ordinance.

The written statement should be sent via email to​ at the same time the application form below is completed.​

Apply for Certification

If a city, village, town, or county wishes to apply, co​mplete the Broadband Forward! Certification application​. After an internal application review process is complete, PSC staff will reach out with more information on next steps.​

Apply for Broadband​
​Forward! Certification

​Contact Information​

​For further information about the application process for Broadband Forward! Certification or for any questions about the Broadband Forward! Community model ordinance, please contact Mark Leonard at ​or (608) 261-8528.​

​Broadband Forward! Certified Communities​

The following communities (in order of date certified) have received Broadband Forward! Certification.​ Certified communities may also be viewed on the Broadband Forw​ard! map​.

View Map

​​Town of Clam Falls​
Village of Kronenwetter
Iowa County​​
City of Thorp
Town of Farmington (La Crosse County)
Town of Dunbar
Village of Cambria
Town of Knapp
Door County
Town of Russell (Bayfield County
Town of Bear Bluff
Town of Land O' Lakes​​
Town of Stephenson
City of Fennimore
Buffalo County
Town of Berry
Town of Milton (Buffalo County)
Town of Liberty Grove
Town of Eureka​
Town of King 
Town of Brigham 
Polk County 
Village of Pardeeville
​Town of Watertown
Town of St. Croix Falls
Town of Anson
Town of Trade Lake
Town of West Sweden
Town of Sugar Creek
Town of Cloverland (Douglas County)
Sawyer County
Washburn County
Town of Athelsane
​Bayfield County
Jefferson County
​Town of Calumet​​​​
Town of Presque Isle​​
​Price County
City of Dodgeville​​
​​Village of Bowler​
​Town of Warren (St. Croix County)
Town of Omro
Lafayette County
Town of Viroqua

Town of Franklin (Vernon County)
Town of Remington
Town of Winneconne
Town of Mondovi
Dunn County
Town of Holland (Sheboygan County)
​Town of Almena
Town of Mosel
Town of Lyons
Village of Ferryville
Town of Prairie Farm
Taylor County
Town of Sand Creek
Town of Cedar Lake
Town of Sherry
Town of Cross
Town of Martell
Town of Kinnickinnic​​
Eau Claire County​
​Town of Erin​
Town of Ellsworth​
​​Town of Seneca (Crawford County)
Monroe County
Town of Buffalo (Buffalo County)
Town of Gilman
Town of Scott (Monroe County)
Town of Wells

Town of Springdale
​Town of Cicero
​Town of Oakdale
Town of Vinland​
Town of Winchester (Winnebago County)
​Town of Port Washington
​​​​Town of Brooklyn (Green County)
Green County
Town of Montana​​
Town of Waumandee
La Crosse County
Town of Stockholm​
Town of Rutland
Town of Belvidere
Town of Bloomfield (Waushara County)
Town of Caledonia (Waupaca County)                                  Village of Fremont