Governor's Task Force on Broadband Access

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Image of Wisconsin State Seal                    image of the Wisconsin Broadband Logo

On July 14th, 2020, Governor Tony Evers signed Executive Order #80 (Accessible Version​) creating the Governor's Task Force on Broadband Access. The task force will advise the Governor and Wisconsin State Legislature on broadband actions and policy, including strategies for successfully expanding high speed internet access to every residence, business, and institution in the state; initiatives for digital inclusion; and pathways to unlocking and optimizing the benefits of statewide, affordable access to broadband for all communities in Wisconsin.

Jump to Section:

Leadership & Membership

The task force will be chaired by Chris Meyer and consists of members who represent a balance of interests, perspectives, and areas of expertise. It will bring together a diverse group of stakeholders to research and develop recommendations for actions so that all Wisconsinites can have access to this essential and critical service needed for daily life.​

Governor's Task Force on Broadband Access members include: 

  • Bob Abrams, Senior Managing Consultant, BKD (Retired)​
  • Robert Earl Baker III, Founder, RenderTech​
  • Kwami Barnes, Broadband Coordinator, Communications Workers of America
  • Marta Bechtol, Executive Director, Educational Communications Board
  • Brittany Beyer, Community Economic Development Specialist, UW-Extension Center for Community and Economic Development
  • Salvador L. Carranza, Board Member, Latino Academy of Workforce Development
  • Lori Collins, President/CEO, SonicNet Inc.
  • Angie Dickison, State Government Affairs Manager, TDS Telecommunications
  • Emily Dittmar, Legislative Director, Wisconsin Educational Media and Technology Association
  • Russ Falkenberg, Board Member, Ntera, LLC
  • Chris Her-Xiong, Executive Director/Principal, Hmong American Peace Academy
  • Justin Huebner, CEO and General Manager, Solarus
  • Gail Huycke, Community Development Specialist, UW-Extension Center for Community and Economic Development
  • Barbara Koldos, Vice President of Business Development, New North, Inc.
  • Howard Marklein, State Senator (R-Spring Green)
  • Jose Martinez, Vice President, UMOS
  • Chris Meyer, Vice President Royal Credit Union (​Chair)
  • Jeffrey Mursau, State Representative (R-Crivitz)
  • Brad Pfaff, State Senator (D-Onalaska)
  • Melissa Ratcliff, State Representative (D-Cottage Grove)
  • Michael Rave, Executive Director of Administration, Ho-Chunk Nation
  • Rachel K. Schemelin, E-Rate and Broadband Education Consultant, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction​
  • Steve Schneider, President and Director, Bug Tussel Wireless​
  • Michelle Schuler, Manager of TechSpark Wisconsin, Microsoft
  • Brett Schuppner, General Manager, Reedsburg Utility Commission
  • Josh Shell, President, Badgerland Connections
  • Dr. Chet Strebe, Associate Vice President of Information Technology, Chief Information Officer, Northcentral Technical College
  • Chad Young, CEO/General Manager, Norvado​

Annual Broadband Report

The task force will prepare an annual report that will include the current state of broadband in Wisconsin, as well as recommendations for policies and initiatives to overcome challenges to statewide access, affordability and adoption. Staffing support for the task force will be provided by the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin (PSC) State Broadband Office.

2023 Governor's Task Force on Broadband Access Report

2022 Governor's Task Force on Broadband Access Report

2021 Governor's Task Force on Broadband Access Report

Upcoming Task Force Meetings​​​

See the PSC Event Calendar for meeting agenda and links.

If you need an interpreter, translator, materials i​n alternate formats or other accommodations to access this service, activity or program, please call the phone number below at least three business days prior to the meeting.

Si necesita un intérprete, un traductor, materiales en formatos alternativos u otros arreglos para acceder a este servicio, actividad o programa, comuníquese al número de teléfono que figura a continuación tres días hábiles como mínimo antes de la reunión.

Yog hais tias koj xav tau ib tug neeg txhais lus, ib tug neeg txhais ntawv, cov ntawv ua lwm hom ntawv los sis lwm cov kev pab kom siv tau cov kev pab, cov kev ua ub no (activity) los sis qhov kev p​ab cuam, thov hu rau tus xov tooj hauv qab yam tsawg peb hnub ua hauj lwm ua ntej yuav tuaj sib tham.
​For questions or accommodations regarding Task Force meetings, please contact: Mark Leonard, (608) 261-8528,​.​

Past Task Force Meetings

​Meeting Date
​Meeting Recording
​May 15, 2024
5/15/2024 Agenda
5/15/2024 Recording​
​April 17, 2024​
​​4/17/2024 Agenda​
4/17/2024 Recording​
​March 20, 2024
3/20/2024 Agenda
3/20/2024 Recording​
​February 21, 2024
2/21/2024 Agenda​
2/21/2024 Recording​
​January 24, 2024
1/24/2024 Agenda​
1/24/2024 Recording
​November 8, 2023
11/8/2023 Agenda​​​​
11/8/2023 Recording​
​October 11, 2023
10/11/2023 Agenda​10/11/2023​ Recording​
​August 2nd, 2023
​8/2/2023 Agenda
8/2/2023 Recording
​June 21st, 2023
​6/21/2023 Agenda
6/21/2023 Recording​
​May 17th, 2023
5/17/2023 Agenda
5/17/2023 Recording
​April 19th, 2023
​4/19/2023 Agenda
​4/19/2023 Recording
March 15th, 2023
3/15/2023 Agenda
3/15/2023 Recording​
​February 15th, 2023
2/15/2023 Agenda
​2/15/2023 Recording
​January 18th, 2023
​1/18/2023 Agenda
1/18/2023 Recording
​December 14th, 2022 
12/14/2022 Agenda
​12/14/2022 Recording
​November 16th, 2022
11/16/2022 Agenda
​11/16/2022 Recording
October 25th, 2022
10/25/2022 Agenda
​10/25/2022 Recording
​September 21st, 2022​
​9/21/2022 Agenda
​9/21/2022 Recording

​Public Com​ment​

Members of the public and other interested parties may provide public comment in two forms. First, a portion of time will be set aside on each full task force meeting agenda for public comment opportunity. Second, written public comment will be accepte​d in formal letter form if sent to
PSCStateBroadb​​ with the subject line “Task Force Public Comment".​​​​

Return to Broadband Homepage