Your Rights as a Telephone
Customer

Know your payment and disconnection rights as a telephone

customer
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Your rights as a telephone customer

The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin (PSC) oversees various portions of the telephone
industry to ensure utilities are providing adequate service at reasonable rates. There are many state
and federal laws that promote competition and grant certain rights to customers, including:

e The right to choose a telephone company when more than one is available,
e The right to be informed of basic services and the range of monthly rates,
e The right to safe, adequate and continuous service,

e The right for low-income customers to qualify for assistance in establishing telephone service or
paying monthly bills through the Wisconsin Lifeline & Link-Up Program, and

e The right to have a complaint about disputed charges or service investigated.

How can the PSC help?
If you have concerns with your telephone provider, you must first try to resolve the problem directly

with the company. If you are not satisfied with the provider’s response, contact the PSC Consumer
Affairs Division at 608-266-2001, 1-800-225-7729, ot on the web at:
http://psc.wi.gov/consumerlnfo/complaints/index-complaints.htm.

Payments and disconnections

Deposits
Phone companies may require a deposit to start service. The deposit should not exceed the amount

of local service and two months of estimated or actual long distance service.

The following rules apply to payment and refund of deposits:



Existing Residential Service

A deposit can be requested only if your service was disconnected during the last 12 months for
nonpayment of an undisputed account or your initial application was falsified or incomplete.
New Residential Service

A deposit can be requested only if you have an unpaid bill with a Wisconsin phone company
within the last six years which remains undisputed. A deposit can also be required if there is
good reason to believe that you do not intend to, or will be unable to, pay your bills at the time
payment is due.

Business Service

A deposit can be requested if your credit is not satisfactorily established by the phone company.

For residential service, the deposit will be refunded, with interest, after 12 consecutive months of

service without a disconnection. For business service, the deposit will be refunded, with interest,

after 24 months if your credit standing is satisfactory.

Service Disconnection

Phone service can be disconnected if you:

Fail to pay a delinquent account that exceeds one month's local service charges,
Fail to comply with a deferred payment agreement,

Interfere with the service of others or operate nonstandard equipment,

Fail to pay a required deposit, or

Falsify your application for service.

The phone company must mail a 5-day written notice before disconnection, except when an

emergency or dangerous condition exists. The disconnection notice must include the dispute
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procedures. Both you and the phone company must make reasonable attempts to

resolve the problem. Only the portion of the bill in dispute may be left unpaid while the

matter is in dispute. Never ignore a disconnection notice. Contact the phone company

immediately.

Deferred Payment Agreements

Residential customers are allowed to make arrangements to pay past due bills in installments. When

you agree to make a reasonable down payment on current and past due bills, and to pay the

remaining amount in reasonable installments, your service may not be disconnected. Reasonable

amounts are determined by individual circumstances. A deferred payment agreement may not

include a finance charge.

If you default on the deferred payment agreement, the phone company may disconnect service and

is not required to offer you a new deferred payment agreement prior to disconnection.



How to resolve disputes

Tips for Dispute Resolution

There may be several phone companies involved in providing different services on your phone bill.
Understanding who the companies are may help you to dispute unwanted charges more efficiently.
You may have a local company, a local toll company, and a long distance company. The local
company may also provide billing and collection services for your long distance company and

non-telecommunications related services.

Any of the above types of companies may use billing agents. To dispute unwanted charges,
consumers should start with the billing agent or company listed on the bill. If these companies do
not adequately respond to the dispute, customers should contact the local company to ask for
dispute resolution. An adequate dispute resolution may include an explanation of the charges, proof

of authorization of the chatges, and/or removal of the charges from the consumer’s bill.

If you cannot resolve the problem with your phone company, you may contact the PSC Consumer
Affairs Division at 608-266-2001, 1-800-225-7729, or on the web at:
http://psc.wi.gov/apps40/Complaint/consumer/FileComplaint.aspx.

The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin is an independent state agency that oversees more
than 1,100 Wisconsin public utilities that provide natural gas, electricity, heat, steam, water and
telecommunications services.
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Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
P.O. Box 7854
Madison, WI 53707-7854
Telephone: 608-266-5481
Toll free: 888-816-3831
Consumer affairs: 608-266-2001 / 800-225-7729
TTY: 608-267-1479 / 800-251-8345
Fax: 608-266-3957

Website: http://psc.wi.gov/index.htm
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