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PSC Finalizes Wind Siting Rules

Uniform Standards Head to the Legislature

MADISON - The Public Service Commission of Wisconsin (Commission) today finished its
work on administrative rules governing the siting of wind turbines in Wisconsin. The rules were
drafted in response to 2009 Wisconsin Act 40, recently-enacted legislation directing the
Commission to promulgate rules that specify the restrictions local units of government may
impose on the installation or use of wind energy systems.

“l am happy to have these rules completed,” said Commission Chairperson Eric Callisto.
“Establishing clear and consistent siting standards is critical to removing the confusion that
currently surrounds non-utility wind projects in Wisconsin.”

The Commission’s rules will function as a uniform ceiling of standards to guide the local
regulation of wind siting, operation, and decommissioning for projects less than 100 megawatts
in generating capacity. The rules specify how a political subdivision can establish setback
requirements, noise and shadow flicker standards, and mechanisms that give non-participating
landowners a stake in wind energy projects sited in their area. The rules include the following
provisions:

Notice Requirements. At least 90 days before filing an application, the wind energy
system owner must give notice to landowners within one mile of proposed wind turbine
locations.

Noise Performance Standards. A political subdivision can require wind energy systems
to be sited and operated in a manner that does not exceed 45 dBA during nighttime hours
and 50 dBA during daytime hours. Noise limits will be measured from the outside wall
of non-participating residences and occupied community buildings.

Shadow Flicker Performance Standards. A political subdivision can require wind
energy systems to be sited and operated in a manner that does not cause more than 30
hours per year of shadow flicker for non-participating residences or occupied community
buildings. If a wind energy system causes more than 20 hours per year of shadow flicker,
a political subdivision can require the wind energy system owner to install mitigation
measures for affected landowners, at the expense of the wind turbine owner.
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Setbacks. A political subdivision can impose minimum safety setbacks of 1.1 times the
maximum blade tip height of a wind turbine for participating residences, non-
participating property lines, public road rights-of-way, and overhead communication and
electric transmission or distribution lines. Setbacks of up to 3.1 times the maximum
blade tip height of a wind turbine may be established for nonparticipating residences and
occupied community buildings.

Good Neighbor Payments. The rules allow local units of government to require wind
energy system owners to provide monetary compensation to non-participating
landowners located within one-half mile of a wind turbine site. A political subdivision
may not require these payments for non-participating landowners to exceed 25% of the
payments being made to a landowner hosting a wind turbine in the project.

Complaint Resolution. The rules establish complaint resolution requirements for wind
energy system owners, and a process for requesting political subdivision review of
unresolved complaints. A political subdivision’s decision on review of a complaint is
appealable to the Commission.

The Commission’s action today caps off six months of intense work in developing uniform wind
siting rules for Wisconsin. As part of its process, the Commission established a 15-member
Wind Siting Council, which, after months of deliberations, submitted its recommendations to the
Commission earlier this month. The Commission also held public hearings earlier this summer
in Fond du Lac, Tomah, and Madison, and accepted over 1800 public comments into the record.
The Commission’s rules now head to the Legislature, where the presiding officer of each house
will have 10 days to refer the rules to a standing committee for review.
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