Telecommunications Reseller Application Requirements
Under Wisconsin Statutes, telecommunications resellers are providers that own less than $250,000 worth of transmission facilities within Wisconsin. Resellers are not limited to any particular technology. Resellers are certified under Wis. Stat. § 196.01(1d)(c) as an Alternative Telecommunications Utility – Other.
To Certify as a Reseller:
The online filing form for Reseller certification is
The FAQ for the filing application is here: [Coming Soon]
When you launch the application, make note of the application number. You can edit an unsubmitted application using that number.
Resellers are required to pay a $250 application fee, which must be mailed separately from the online application. You will also be required to upload a PDF copy of the company’s articles of incorporation (or equivalent) and, if an out-of-state company, a copy of your registration with the Wis. Dept. of Financial Institutions.
Applications are normally processed within 90 days from receipt of a completed application and fee. Processing times are generally less.
All Wisconsin providers, in all statutory categories, are subject to assessment for the Wisconsin universal service fund and for Commission expenses pursuant to Wis. Stat. § 196.85.
Resellers are subject to Wis. Stat. ch. 196 and the Wisc. Admin. Code ch. 168.
If you have questions or comments about these issues, please contact Peter Jahn at (608)267-2338 or via email at
Peter.firstname.lastname@example.org. Questions about using the Electronic Regulatory Filing System (ERF) should be directed to Becky Yoh at 608 261 8521, or via email at