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PSC and DOA Urge Consumers to Seek Assistance 
Before Heating Season Begins 

 
MADISON – The Public Service Commission (PSC) and the Department of Administration’s 
Division of Energy are advising consumers to contact their local utility if their heat is 
disconnected and to apply for heating assistance through the state's Energy Assistance Program. 
 
Wisconsin law states that consumers cannot be disconnected during the heating moratorium 
period from November 1 to April 15, if they are connected at the start of the moratorium.   
 
Customers disconnected prior to the moratorium must make arrangements with their local utility 
to pay outstanding bills in order to have their service restored. If a consumer has not made 
arrangements to pay an outstanding bill, the utility is not required to provide heat until an agreed-
upon payment schedule has been reached. 
 
If a customer and utility cannot agree on a payment plan, consumers may contact the PSC’s 
Consumer Affairs division which will review payment plans with the utility.  Wisconsin law has 
established strict guidelines to protect households with persons who are elderly, infants, young 
children, seriously ill, or mentally or physically disabled from being disconnected without notice.   
 
Customers who need assistance paying their heat or electric bills can contact the state’s energy 
assistance program office in their county.  The Division of Energy’s Wisconsin Home Energy 
Assistance Program (WHEAP) can assist eligible households with their energy bills. WHEAP is 
part of Wisconsin’s comprehensive Home Energy Plus program, which also provides assistance 
with emergency energy needs, emergency furnace repairs, weatherization and conservation 
services.  Eligibility is based on income and family size.  For example, a family of four earning 
$7,068 or less in the three months prior to applying for WHEAP may be eligible.  For a two-
person family, the earnings must be $4,683 or less.  Consumers do not have to be behind in their 
energy bill payments to qualify. 
 
To make sure families have the heating assistance they need this winter, Governor Jim Doyle and 
the governors of 16 other states have called upon Congress to authorize an additional $600 
million in emergency funding for the Low Income Home Energy Assistance (LIHEAP) program.  
Additional funding is necessary because energy cost increases are outpacing increases in federal 
funding for the program.  Today LIHEAP assists 5 million American families, down from 7 
million at the program’s outset 22 years ago. 
 



 
 

 

More information on WHEAP and other Home Energy Plus services is available online at 
http://homeenergyplus.wi.gov/, calling toll free 866-HEATWIS (866-432-8947), or by asking 
your local utility representative about the program. 
 
Consumers needing to schedule payments should call their utility.  The phone numbers for the 
largest utilities in the state are listed below: 
 

Alliant  (800) 862-6222 
Madison Gas & Electric  (608) 252-7144 
Superior Water, Light & Power Company  (715) 395-6201 
We Energies  (800) 842-4565 
Wisconsin Public Service Corporation  (800) 450-7260 
Xcel  (800) 895-4999 

 
Customers who wish to speak with a Public Service Commission Consumer Affairs Specialist 
may contact the PSC by calling (608) 266-2001 or toll free at (800) 225-7729. 
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