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PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF WISCONSIN 

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS    

Police and Fire Protection Fee      Wis. Stat. s. 196.025(6) 

This document addresses issues related to implementation of the Police and Fire Protection Fee 
mandated to be billed beginning September 1, 2009, per 2009 Wisconsin Act 28.  See Wis. Stat. 
s. 196.025(6) for the full statutory provisions.  Two key pieces of that new law state: 

“… a communications provider shall impose a monthly fee of $0.75 on each communications 
service connection …” 

“A communications provider that offers a prepaid wireless communications plan, or a retailer 
that offers such a plan on behalf of a communications provider, shall impose a fee equal to 
$0.38 on each retail transaction for such a plan …” 

 QUESTION RESPONSE 
1 When does the Police and Fire Protection Fee 

go into effect? 
September 1, 2009.   
Per Section 9441 of Act 28.  
 

2 The implementation of the Police and Fire 
Protection Fee is September 1, 2009.  Does the 
Public Service Commission (PSC) or the 
Department of Revenue (DOR) envision an 
extension of this deadline? 
 

No.  
This effective date is set by statute. 

3 What bill message language is appropriate for 
alerting customers of this Police and Fire 
Protection Fee? 

ONE VERSION (if the fee is placed as a line item):  
As passed by the state Legislature and recently signed into law as 
part of the state’s 2009-2011 biennial budget (2009 Wisconsin Act 
28), beginning on September 1, 2009, we will be required to collect 
a new monthly fee of $0.75 per connection. This new fee will 
appear on your bill as a line-item for the “Police and Fire 
Protection Fee.” The fee will be applied to all communications 
service connections with an assigned telephone number (i.e. 
landline, wireless, cable telephony etc.) including a communication 
service provided via a voice over Internet protocol connection 
(VoIP). A separate $0.75 fee per month will be imposed as each of 
the first ten connections; the fee for connections over 10 will be 
$0.075 per connection. The amounts collected from these fees will 
be remitted to the state and ultimately be distributed back to local 
units of government under the county and municipal aid program 
to support continued funding of police and fire protection services.  
This fee is mandated by law. 
 

PLEASE NOTE: 

These FAQs reflect some 

changes to earlier versions. 



August 25, 2009 

 

This Version of the FAQs (see date above) includes revisions to material in earlier‐dated versions.  Page 2 
 

4 Will the PSC or DOR promulgate rules? 
 

Yes, rules are anticipated.   
The PSC is drafting rules in docket 1-AC-228. 
 

5 Is 30-day advance notice of this Police and Fire 
Protection Fee required, per Wis. Admin. Code 
s.  ATCP 123? 

No. 
But the first bill containing the fee should include an explanation of 
the fee. 
 

6 Is the Police and Fire Protection Fee applicable 
to both wireline and wireless services? 
 

Yes.  
Act 28 (Wis. Stat. s. 196.025(6)) notes that a fee applies to “each 
telecommunications service connection with an assigned 
telephone number…” 
 

7 What  about Voice over Internet Protocol 
(VoIP)?  Does the Police and Fire Protection 
Fee apply to those connections? 
 

Yes. The fee applies to Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP). 
Wis. Stat. s. 196.025(6))b) is specific that a fee applies to “each 
telecommunications service connection with an assigned 
telephone number, including a communication service provided via 
a voice over Internet protocol connection.” 
 

8 Does the Police and Fire Protection Fee apply 
to one-way paging providers or paging 
services? 
 

No. 
The fee is applicable to voice communications. Thus, it is not 
applicable to paging providers or their customers. 
 

9 Are tax–exempt accounts – i.e. state or local 
governments or non-profits – subject to the 
Police and Fire Protection Fee? 
 

Generally, yes.  
Act 28 created no exceptions to the fee. 
 
(Federal government accounts are not subject to such a state fee. 
Connections provided for official use by sovereign tribes are not 
subject to the fee.) 
 

10 Are the following subject to the Police and Fire 
Protection Fee? 
  Lifeline service? 
  Discounted or free employee lines? 
  2nd lines for voice carryover TTY users? 
  Foreign exchange lines? 
  Centrex lines? 
 

Yes.  The fee applies to active retail service. 
  

11 Is the Police and Fire Protection Fee applied to 
“official company lines?” 
 

No.  The fee is applicable per statute to active retail service. 

12 Does the Police and Fire Protection Fee apply 
to a customer that only has long distance 
services with the provider?  Does the fee apply 
to WATS access lines?  
 

No.    
 

13 Is it appropriate that any late payment fee that a 
provider may have in effect may be applied to 
the Police and Fire Protection Fee if that fee is 
not paid by the due date? 
 

Yes. 
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14 How does the Police and Fire Protection Fee 
apply to the resale of service? 
 

The fee should be billed by the provider that bills the end user for 
service. That provider would remit the fees to the state.  The fee 
would not be assessed to a reseller by an underlying provider. 
 
A DOR Form, PFP-211, Wisconsin Police and Fire Protection Fee 
Resale Certificate, is currently being developed for use to certify 
resold connections. 
 

15 How is the Police and Fire Protection Fee to be 
applied on accounts with more than 10 
connections? 

On the same customer account, lines 1 through 10 would be billed 
$0.75 each.  Lines 11 and on would be billed at $0.075 each.  
(This is 1/10th the $0.75 charge.)  For example: 
  10 lines = $7.50 
  11 lines = $7.50 + $0.075 = $7.58 
  12 lines = $7.50 + $0.150 = $7.65 
  21 lines = $7.50 + $0.825 = $8.33 
  30 lines = $7.50 + $1.500 = $9.00 
 

16 For purposes of assessing the Police and Fire 
Protection Fee, is there any aggregation of lines 
for customers who receive lines from more than 
one provider?   
(That is, for example, what does a customer pay 
if 6 lines are from AT&T, 5 lines are from 
Charter, and 7 wireless connections are from 
US Cellular?) 
 

No, each carrier bills in accordance to its own records. 
 
  AT&T    6  @  $0.75 
  Charter   5  @  $0.75 
  US Cellular   7  @  $0.75 

17 What does the term “billed account” mean in the 
context of determining the number of 
connections for purposes of the volume 
discount for the Police and Fire Protection 
Fee?  Is it the customer bill account with all 
associated ‘bill-with’ accounts or is it the 
customer account?  For example, if a customer 
has 1 bill-to number with 25 ‘bill-with’ accounts  
associated with the bill-to number, is the 
customer be subject to 26 $0.75 fees or would 
the volume discount apply?  
 

A bill-with situation is a billing convenience only.  The number of 
lines in each individual account will be used to determine the over 
ten threshold.  In this example, 26 connections at $0.75 would be 
billed. 

18 For the purpose of billing the Police and Fire 
Protection Fee, how should ‘connections’ be 
counted in the case of circuits and channels 
provided with services such as PBXs, DCS, 
ISDN-PRIs, T1s or DID? 
 

A provider should count trunks similar to the process it applies for 
assessment of the countywide 911 charges assessed per Wis. 
Stat. s. 256.35(3). 
 
The fee would not apply to DID numbers. 

19.1 Is the Police and Fire Protection Fee subject to 
state or county sales tax? 

No. 
A sales and use tax exemption is created for the sales price from 
the police and fire protection fee imposed under Wis. Stats s. 
196.025(6).  (2009 Act 28, created a Police and Fire Protection 
Fee Exemption in Wis. Stat. s. 77.54(55), effective July 1, 2009.) 
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19.2 Is the Police and Fire Protection Fee subject to 
the federal excise tax? 
 

No. 

20 Must the Police and Fire Protection Fee be 
listed separately on customers’ bills? 

No.  The statute notes that the provider “may list the fee separately 
from other charges on a subscriber’s bill.” 
 

21 If the Police and Fire Protection Fee is listed as 
a line item on customers’ bills, how should it be 
referenced? 

The statute says that if the fee is listed separately on the bill it shall 
be identified as “police and fire protection fee.”   
 
If a provider combines the fee with the 911 monthly fee applicable 
to county 911 services, the statute says it shall be identified as 
“charge for funding countywide 911 systems plus police and fire 
protection fee.” 
 

22 What if that many words/letters cannot be 
accommodated by a billing system? 
 

A reasonable abbreviation may be necessary, but the bill must 
contain an explanation of what the fee is. 

23 May service providers or retailers retain a 
portion of the Police and Fire Protection Fee to 
cover billing, collection and administrative 
costs? 
 

No. 

24 Is the Police and Fire Protection Fee part of 
‘deniable’ services for disconnection purposes? 
 

No. 

25 How should a wireless provider determine if a 
wireless service offering would be subject to the 
Wisconsin Police and Fire Protection Fee? 
 

Wireless providers may reasonably apply the Primary Place of Use 
(PPU) classification as defined by 4 U.S.C. 124(8). 

26 How does the Police and Fire Protection Fee 
apply to a partial month of service? 
 

A provider should assess the fee for any partial month’s service in 
the same manner that it treats assessment of the countywide 911 
charges assessed per Wis. Stat. s. 256.35(3).  Providers that do 
not assess such 911 fees may assess a full $0.75 fee if the 
provider’s billing system does not permit the fee to be prorated. 
 

27 If a billing system change is needed to bill for 
the Police and Fire Protection Fee and that 
change cannot be ready by September 1, 2009, 
what should be done? 
 

The fee is effective September 1, 2009.  A subsequent bill should 
back bill to September 1. 

28 The Police and Fire Protection Fee is effective 
September 1, 2009.  If the provider bills a 
customer on Sept.10th and receives payment 
from the customer on Sept.15th, when does the 
fee need to be remitted to the state? 
 

Fees should be remitted to the state by the end of October in this 
example.   

29 How and to whom are payments to be made?   
 

This will be administered by the Department of Revenue in a 
manner similar to other processes for state tax collections and 
submissions.  See the DOR website for more information at     
www.revenue.wi.gov/html/pfprofee.html 
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30 How are uncollectable Police and Fire 

Protection Fees to be treated? 
Entities should remit the fees on an as-billed basis (i.e., accrual 
basis).  Later, if there is an uncollectible write-off for an account, 
the write-off the Police and Fire Protection Fee would be reported 
as a reduction in the fees payable for the month in which the 
amount is eligible to be deducted as a bad debt for federal income 
tax purposes. 
 

31 The Police and Fire Protection Fee of $0.38 for 
prepaid wireless services applies on each retail 
transaction for a prepaid wireless 
telecommunications plan.  What is a “prepaid 
wireless telecommunications plan?’ 

“Prepaid wireless communications plan” means a plan for a 
wireless communications service that provides the right to utilize 
wireless voice service, is paid for prior to use and sold in 
predetermined dollar amounts whereby a number of units declines 
with use of a known amount. 
 

32 What is a transaction? Prepaid wireless retail transaction” means a retail sale for a prepaid 
wireless telecommunications plan with no expectation that the 
prepaid wireless telecommunications plan will be further resold. 
 A prepaid wireless retail transaction can be sold for a specified 
dollar amount, or for a specified period time, such as a finite 
number of minutes of use or a finite number of days of service.   
 
A prepaid wireless retail transaction includes the sale of additional 
wireless airtime, including an additional finite dollar amount of 
service, additional minutes of use or additional days of service, 
whether sold at a retail location, over the internet or by telephone 
call.   
 
For instance, these would be transactions: 
 Sale of a prepaid wireless phone with airtime. 
 Sale of additional wireless airtime (minutes, dollars, 
 days), including by wireless service phone cards.  
  
Sales of accessories – batteries, ring tones, phone covers, etc. - 
are not transactions subject to the $0.38 fee. 
 

33 Regarding prepaid wireless plans, who collects 
and remits the $0.38? 
 

The entity that makes the sale to the user. 
 
Communications providers are to collect the fee on the following: 

 The provider’s sale of prepaid wireless 
telecommunications plans (e.g.,  selling a handset  with 
usage that is set up  for prepaid use).  

 The communications provider’s sale of a prepaid set of 
minutes or a finite dollar amount or set period of days 
used for a prepaid wireless telecommunications plan. 
 

Retailers that offer prepaid wireless telecommunications plans on 
behalf of a communications provider are to collect the fee on 
transactions that involve the sale of handsets  or the sale of 
additional usage.  
 
 



August 25, 2009 

 

This Version of the FAQs (see date above) includes revisions to material in earlier‐dated versions.  Page 6 
 

34 If a customer made 5 purchases at one time – 
say 3 handsets with minutes that are set up with 
accounts and 2 prepaid phone cards for a plan, 
is the total fee amount charged at that time 
$0.38 or is it 5 times $0.38 = $1.90?  
 

The amount charged would be $1.90 in this example.  Each item 
purchased would be a transaction.   

35 If customers want more information, where can 
they be referred? 

Department of Revenue 
See the website at www.revenue.wi.gov/html/pfprofee.html 
DOR e-mail: sales10@revenue.wi.gov    
DOR phone: (608) 266-2776    
 
Public Service Commission  
See the website at  http://psc.wi.gov/  
PSC email: PoliceAndFireFee@psc.state.wi.us 
PSC phone: (608) 267-9780    
 

  

 


