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Public Service Commission of Wisconsin Amendment No. 52  

MEDFORD ELECTRIC UTILITY  

Commitment to Community Program Rider 
 
Under provisions of 1999 Wisconsin Act 9 and 2005 Wisconsin Act 141, a municipal electric utility shall 
charge each customer a low-income assistance and energy efficiency fee.  Fifty percent of the fees charged by 
the municipal utility shall be used for low-income assistance programs and the remainder will be used for 
energy efficiency programs.  Low-income programs may include assistance to low-income households for 
weatherization and other energy conservation services, payment of energy bills or early identification or 
prevention of energy crises.  Energy efficiency programs may include those programs designed to reduce the 
demand for natural gas or electricity or improving the efficiency of its use during any period. 
 
Pursuant to Wis. Stat. §§ 16.957(5) and 196.374(7), each municipal electric utility must collect an average of 
$16 per meter per year.  The actual amount of fees paid by a customer cannot exceed the lesser of 3 percent of 
all other billed electric charges or $750 per month.  These fees are not subject to Gross Receipts or Sales 
Taxes.  A municipal utility may determine the amount that a particular class of customers is required to pay 
and may charge different fees to different classes of customers. 
 
Medford Electric Utility, in compliance with these laws and, as of the “Effective Date” established below, has 
set the fees for each retail electric customer rate classification as follows: 

Rg-1 Residential Service   $0.00107 per kWh; 
   Minimum fee = $0.15 per customer per month 
  Maximum fee = $2.50 per customer per month 
Gs-2 Residential Service Optional TOD   $0.00107 per kWh; 
  Minimum fee = $0.15 per customer per month 
  Maximum fee = $2.50 per customer per month 
Gs-1General Service Optional TOD Service  $0.00107 per kWh; 
  Minimum fee = $0.15 per customer per month 
  Maximum fee = $12.50 per customer per month 
Gs-2 General Service Optional TOD Service  $0.00107 per kWh; 
  Minimum fee = $0.15 per customer per month 
  Maximum fee = $12.50 per customer per month 
Cp-1 Small Power Service  $12.50 per customer per month 
Cp-2 Large Power TOD Service  $20.00 per customer per month 
Cp-3 Industrial Power TOD Service  $20.00 per customer per month 
Ms-1 Street Lighting Service  $12.50 per customer per month 
Ms-2 Athletic Field Lighting Service  No charge 
Gl-1 Security Lighting Service  No charge 

Medford Electric Utility has elected to spend 50 percent of the low-income assistance and energy efficiency 
fees collected from its retail electric customers to support local Low-Income Commitment to Community 
Programs and to send 50 percent to the State of Wisconsin to participate in the State’s Focus on Energy 
programs.  Questions regarding low-income assistance and energy efficiency fees or Medford Electric Utility’s 
Commitment to Community Programs should be directed to Michael Frey, Manager, at (715) 748-3211.    
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Public Service Commission of Wisconsin Amendment No.  53  

MEDFORD ELECTRIC UTILITY 

 ELECTRIC CUSTOMER SUPPLEMENTAL RULES  
 
201.1 LATE PAYMENT CHARGE  

 See Wis. Admin. Code § PSC 113.0406. 

 

201.2 DISCONNECTION AND REFUSAL OF SERVICE 

 See Wis. Admin. Code § PSC 113.0301. 

 

201.3 DEFERRED PAYMENT AGREEMENT 

 See Wis. Admin. Code § PSC 113.0404. 
 
Medford Electric Utility shall offer deferred payment agreements to residential accounts and may 
offer such agreements to other customers. However, Medford Electric Utility will not offer a deferred 
payment agreement to a residential customer who is a tenant if any of the following criteria applies: 

1. The residential tenant has greater than $100 of account arrearages that are more than 90 days 
past due for utilities that bill monthly; or for utilities that do not bill monthly, has greater than 
$100 of account arrearages that are past due for more than two billing cycles. 

2. The tenant has defaulted on a deferred payment agreement in the past 12 months. This 
criterion only applies to deferred payment agreements and not to other types of payment 
extensions or agreements.  

3. The residential tenant is responsible for account arrearages that were placed on any property 
owner’s tax bill in the utility’s service territory in the past 24 months. 

4. The residential tenant has a balance that accrued during the winter moratorium that is more 
than 80 days past due. 

 

201.4 NOTICE OF DISCONNECTION 

 See Wis. Admin. Code § PSC 113.0301. 

 

EFFECTIVE:  July 27, 2015 
PSCW AUTHORIZATION:  3510-TE-100 






