PSC Home Contact US State of Wi Portal
PSC Logo
Electricity Natural Gas Telecom Water consumer


Natural Gas





About Us

PSC Commissioners

The PSC is composed of three full-time Commissioners who decide the cases brought to the PSC for changes in utility operations, rates and for construction projects after a complete and thorough review of all the records compiled in the case, including public comments. Commissioners are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the State Senate for staggered, six-year terms.

One of these Commissioners is appointed chairperson by the Governor for a two-year term. The Commissioners’ Office, under the direction of the Chairperson, has oversight of all PSC staff related activities.

Any communications with individual Commissioners on contested cases before the commission may constitute a prohibited ex parte communication [Wis. Stat. § 227.50]. If you wish to comment on the record on a pending matter, please do not contact individual commissioners. The PSC has established an official method for receiving public comments that can be accessed at the PSC Comments page on our web site. Only comments submitted in this manner will be officially recorded and reviewed by Commissioners before deciding pending cases.


Ellen Nowak

Ellen Nowak was first appointed to the Wisconsin Public Service Commission in July 2011 by Governor Scott Walker.  Photo of Commissioner NowakShe was reconfirmed for a new, six-year term beginning on March 1, 2013. Commissioner Nowak was named Chairperson of the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin in March of 2015.

She serves on the Executive Committee and the Board of Directors for the National Association of Regulatory Utility Commissioners (NARUC). Her duties at NARUC also include serving on the Committee on Energy Resources and the Environment and the Task Force on Environmental Regulation and Generation. Commissioner Nowak also serves on the Advisory Council to the Board of Directors for the Electric Power Research Institute, the Advisory Council for the Center for Public Utilities and the Advisory Committee for the Critical Consumers Issues Forum.

Prior to her appointment, she served as the chief of staff to Waukesha County Executive, Dan Vrakas. From 2002-2006, she served as legal counsel and subsequent chief of staff to the Speaker of the Wisconsin Assembly. She also later worked as the deputy director of School Choice Wisconsin. From 1998-2002, Ellen practiced business litigation at Mallery & Zimmerman SC in Milwaukee.

Ellen has a law degree from Marquette University and a Bachelor of Science from the University of Wisconsin–Milwaukee.

If you would like to contact Chairperson Nowak, please send her an e-mail at:


Phil Montgomery

Phil Montgomery worked closely with utility, energy and telecommunications issues as an elected state representative from Green Bay Photo of Chairperson Montgomery while serving six terms. He was appointed as Chairperson of the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin in March 2011 by Governor Scott Walker. Commissioner Montgomery served as Chairperson for the Commission until February 2015. At the Commission, Phil Montgomery has delegated authority to provide commissioner-oversight of Focus on Energy, the state’s energy efficiency and renewable program. He is also a member of the Eastern Interconnection States’ Planning Council (EISPC).

As a Legislator from 1998 to 2010, Representative Montgomery served on the Joint Committee on Finance, Chaired the Assembly Committee on Energy and Utilities and Joint Committee on Information Policy and Technology, and has served on other related committees in the Assembly, and on the Board of Directors of the Wisconsin Public Utility Institute.

He has a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Houston and is a former systems engineer.

If you would like to contact Commissioner Montgomery, please send him an e-mail at:


Mike Huebsch

Mike Huebsch was appointed to a six-year term at the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin by Governor Scott Walker on March 1, 2015, and confirmed by the state Senate in April 2015. Photo of Commissioner Huebesch

Commissioner Huebsch began state service in 1995 representing western Wisconsin’s 94th Assembly District for sixteen years as a Republican in the state Legislature.  He served two terms on the budget-writing Joint Finance Committee, including one as vice-chair.  In the following years, he was elected by his colleagues to serve first as Assembly Majority Leader and then as Assembly Speaker.  As Speaker, he led the negotiations on Wisconsin’s $60 billion budget and set the policy agenda for the state Assembly.  He was also responsible for managing the budget and personnel policies of the 99 member body and more than 200 staff.

Upon his inauguration in 2011, Governor Walker appointed Mike to the top cabinet position as Secretary of the Department of Administration.  In addition to advising Governor Walker on state policy and operations, Mike managed the Governor’s cabinet agencies as well as nearly 1000 staff and $1 billion annual budget in 13 different divisions, overseeing everything from state budget and finance to the Capitol Police.

Commissioner Huebsch has always approached policymaking with the knowledge that when Wisconsin leads, much of the nation follows.  As he brings over 20 years of state government experience to the Public Service Commission today, Mike continues to believe that answers to many of the challenges facing Wisconsin and other states around the country will be found here at home.

Commissioner Huebsch was born in Milwaukee and has been a resident of La Crosse County for the last 45 years.  He graduated from Onalaska High School and attended Oral Roberts University in Tulsa, Oklahoma.  He lives in West Salem with his wife, Valerie, and their two children, Ryan and Brett.

If you would like to contact Commissioner Huebsch, please send him an e-mail at: